Available dogs

Cyrus: Siberian Husky (F) 8 years – COURTESY LISTING

Name: Cyrus
Breed: Siberian Husky
Gender: Female (spayed)
Age: 8 years
Cats: NO
Dogs: NO
Kids: Yes


LISTING FOR OWNER SERVICE

Cyrus is a wonderful, easy going, 8 year old friendly family dog who loves people and being outside. She was living in the country but just moved to the city.

She knows basic commands and is crate trained.  She is good in the car.  She can sometimes be a bit of a puller on a leash at first when she is excited during her walk but does settle down.  She is quite vocal and likes to sing!

No medical issues at all, and all vaccinations are up to date. She eats Fromm food and loves treats .

She lost her master last October and our family has downsized quite a bit with a very small backyard.  We are looking to find her a beautiful home because she is an amazing dog! She would be a great addition to family or couple.

  • Located in Ottawa, ON – $100 minimum donation to SHARP
  • With owner, needs adopter
  • Looking for a home since October 2018

SHARP Adoption/Foster Application

Rocket: Siberian Husky (M) 3 years – COURTESY LISTING FOR SHELTER

Name: Rocket
Breed: Siberian Husky
Gender: Adult – Male
Age: 3 years 1 month 2 weeks
Size: Large
Primary Color: White
Weight: 27kg

COURTESY LISTING FOR SHELTER

HEALTH:
Vaccinations up to date, neutered

PREFERS A HOME WITHOUT:
Children or Cats


MEET ROCKET:
Hi, my name is Rocket! I’m an friendly, independent Husky in search of my forever home.

As is typical of my breed, I love to stay busy and am happy to learn new tricks! Like any young adult, I can be a little on the bossy side, and am definitely guilty of calling the shots when I want to.

I’d love to go to training with my new owner so I can practice the basics, and build a better bond with my family! I’m an energetic pup, but will need my new family to recognize when I need a break. You see, I have asthma, and will require ongoing treatment and/or medication for this. Because of this, I am looking for a smoke-free home. I don’t let my asthma hold me back from enjoying activities and outings, but it can make strenuous play a bit more challenging for me.

I am looking for a home that has experience owning large breed dogs, though Husky specific experience would be preferred. and where all family members are at least 18 years of age or older. Ideally, I’d like to be the only pet in the home. I like my independence and am happiest when it’s just me and my people.

Interested in adopting me? Please come visit me at the shelter during viewing hours!
Location: Oakville, ON

Oakville & Milton Humane Society
445 Cornwall Road
Oakville, ON L6J 7S8
adoptions@omhs.ca
(905) 845-1551 ext. 147

Link to apply: https://www.petfinder.com/dog/rocket-43920035/on/oakville/oakville-and-milton-humane-society-on391/

Carl: Husky mix (M) 2 years (approx) – COURTESY LISTING

Name: Carl
Breed: Husky mix
Sex: Male (Neutered)
Age: 2 years (approx)
Cats: No/Not tested
Dogs: Good with other dog in home and if introduced slowly to others
Kids: No young children/older OK (due to fear issues)


LISTING FOR OWNER SERVICE

Carl came to us from Fort McKay, Alberta. He was hit with a shovel and ended up with several facial fractures. He underwent surgery for these injuries and as a result had his left eye removed.

Carl is generally a lovable, playful pup who loves chasing and wrestling in the backyard, and going for long walks in the woods. He is content to sit outside in the yard and relax, but also likes coming in to be close to his people. He does not dig, jump, or chew. Carl has some complicated fear and trust issues. He does warm up to people if they let him come on his own terms, and if they bring him treats! He gets along famously with his canine sister, but has trouble meeting new dogs. However if he is able to meet them slowly, he is often ok with them.

Carl is very scared of loud noises and sudden movements from strangers. Because of his history, he is very scared of things like shovels, brooms, and sticks. Carl needs a new quiet and calm home where he won’t feel like he needs to bite to get out of a scary situation. He has nipped at and bitten on a couple occasions out of fear/stress, which is why he needs a new home away from the unpredictability of younger children and a loud house. He has been assessed by a trainer who feels that with the right person in the right home, he can be taught to manage his fear in a healthier way. Generally he chooses to find a safe spot in the house and come out again when he feels ready.

Carl can follow basic commands. He is fully crate trained, and likes to sleep in his crate both at night and while we are away in the day. We are working on getting him more comfortable with wearing a muzzle. He walks well with a chest harness and head halter. He is not an off leash dog as his fear issues can cause him to run and hide. He does great on long car rides. He eats one meal a day, in two portions in the evening out of a slow feeder bowl. He is not a picky eater and is food motivated. He does guard his food if he is not comfortable with whoever is around.

He is up to date with his vaccines, is microchipped, and has no other health concerns that we are aware of.

  • Located in Fort McMurray, Alberta – $400 adoption fee to SHARP
  • With owner, needs adopter
  • Looking for a home since August 2018

SHARP Adoption/Foster Application