Neptune: Siberian Husky (M) 2 years – ADOPTED

ADOPTED!

Name: Neptune
Breed: Siberian Husky
Sex: Male (Neutered)
Age: 2 years
Cats: No/Not tested
Dogs: Yes – good with big and small
Kids: Yes – good


LISTING FOR OWNER SERVICE

My name is Neptune and I recently turned two years old.  I’m male, neutered, up-to-date on all my vaccines and I’m microchipped.  I have lots of energy and love to run, play tug of war, chase multiple soccer balls and jog with my owner.  If I’m exercised properly I’ll happily relax for most of the day.

I’ve been in the same home since I was 2 months old and grew up with two small children.  I’ve been taught not to jump on kids although sometimes I lean against them for affection which knocks them over.  Adults I get very excited around and I’ll likely jump all over you or any visitors so will need reminding about not to do this.

I love to jog and walk although I do pull on the leash.  I’m working on heel but I need much reminding at the beginning of each walk.  Sometimes when I’m walking or jogging I get over excited and I start to run as fast as I can, which can make it difficult to hold me.  I’m very strong.  My trainer once called me ‘extremely intelligent, even for a husky’.  I love meeting other dogs of all sizes and people. I’m very playful and I love to talk/howl to strangers.  I love driving around in cars and I’m a good traveller.

In the house I do not jump on furniture or counter surf for food.  I’ve periodically been left alone in the house for extended periods of time and I’ve never caused trouble.  I haven’t been crated since I was a few months old so I’m not sure how I would respond if you tried.

Outside I cannot be trusted alone, even for a moment.  I will dig and chew my way under the fence so that I can explore the neighbourhood.   And recall, no way, I have none! I’d rather explore so need 100% supervision and NEVER allowed off-leash.

I’ve been fed a diet of salmon once a day and grain free kibble twice a day.  My kibble is boring and sometimes I don’t eat it.  One of my favourite treats is raw marrow/soup bones which I’ll happily chew on for hours.  I do have a sensitive stomach and can tolerate beef but pork, chicken and other meats can make me sick.  I’ve never growled at my owners or guarded my food.

Ideally, I need a strong, experienced dog owner who would enjoy giving me the exercise I need and be firm as I’m stubborn.  I also want to stay close to you so don’t leave me for long periods as I get anxious.